Back to Help Center

What happens to messages and media I've shared after deleting my account?

Reviewed October 17, 2026

When you delete your Hashchats account, all personal information like your name, profile photo, and account data is permanently removed, except for the limited email retention described in our Privacy Policy.

Answer

However, any messages or media (like photos or videos) that you shared in direct messages or group chats will remain visible to recipients as part of their chat history. This helps preserve the conversation flow for others but your name and photo will be anonymized. If you want to remove specific messages or files, delete eligible messages you sent with @ai off before deleting your account. AI requests and AI responses cannot be deleted from the message menu.