Back to Help Center

What happens to my conversations and data?

Reviewed October 17, 2026

Chat history and uploaded content are stored to provide the service.

Answer

You can delete a private AI chat using Delete Chat. Eligible messages you sent with @ai off can be deleted individually. Leaving a People chat does not delete it for others. Account deletion removes personal account data and private chats, while shared messages and media can remain with your identity removed. Limited email retention to prevent repeat free AI credit grants, legal retention and the Privacy Policy still apply.